Indy-Chicago-Indy

August 7, 2012 at 2:23 pm (Uncategorized)

I got a unique opportunity a couple weeks ago. My company wanted to send me out to Chicago for training but because it was so last minute, the flight would have been very expensive. And the flight would have had to have been purchased on July’s budget which was already high for the month. So I offered to drive. I’m pretty sure I’m insane, but what I saw was an opportunity to spend two weekends in Indianapolis on the company’s dime. So, last Sunday, I got in my car to drive to Indy and stay with my friend Cassy. She graciously made me dinner and allowed me to crash at her house.

 

Couldn’t wait to see this little guy!

 

The next day I got up and went to Cannon IV to visit with some old coworkers and check out Bru Burger, a new restaurant on Mass Ave, with Colleen and Mandy.  After lunch, off I went to Chicago for my training.  I got to stay in a Westin which was very nice.  Here’s the view from my room.

My shower had two heads!  I couldn’t believe it.  There was a note that said something about saving the environment and only using one of the heads.  Ummmmm, if you are going to put a double headed shower head in my shower, then I’m using it.  Duh.  Sorry environment!  If they really were earth friendly, they wouldn’t have installed it.

Anyway, I spent the next four days in a training room on the 12th floor of a building that had 360 views of Chicago.  It was very impressive.  The training was actually fun.  I had a great time and learned a lot.  For lunch they had food catered from almost all my Chicago favorites.  We had hot dogs, Italian beefs, and deep dish pizza.

On Friday, I headed back to Indy to stay with Jason and Jeff. On my way back, I decided to stop at Fair Oaks Farms because I’ve always wanted to and I wanted to buy some cheese.  Unfortunately, I left it in the boys refridgerator when I left to head back to Virginia.  But  here’s a picture of the place.

After that I just spent the weekend hanging out with my boys.  We hit a couple bars downtown, ate some good food and probably got way too drunk half the time.  Sunday morning came quickly and I hit the road at 6:30am.  Unfortunately, it just wasn’t my day to drive.  I followed huge thunderstorms pretty much the entire way.  The only time it wasn’t raining was when I was sitting on the highway for 2 hours due to a vehicle fire blocking all lanes.  Yay!  But all in all, the trip was a success, saw friends, got trained, sold some stuff, brought more things home from my storage unit, and had a great time!

Leave a Reply

