Indy 500 2011

May 31, 2011 at 7:26 pm (Uncategorized)

I can’t believe this is my 4th Indy 500 living in Indiana. Once again it was a blast! Everyone arrived on Friday and headed to Carburation Day. I opted to work that day. The forecast was for cold and rainy. Not my cup of tea. After work, I met up with the gang at a bar right outside the track called the Winner’s Circle. It is a very disgusting bar that I would never step foot into except for one day a year. However, we like to take over the joint and just have a good ole time.

Afterwards, we went to dinner where we ended up dancing on the table in our private room and taking WAAAAAYYY to many shots.  Jeez, I love family time.  Saturday was the parade which might be my favorite day.  It is the one day that I don’t have to drive (although I ended up driving this year) and who doesn’t love a parade? 

 

We ended up at Kilroys after the parade for a late lunch and then all the kids went back to my house for a night of, again, too much drinking.  Sunday morning came way to work.  My dad was at my house at 8:15am ready to hit the track.  It was a great day.  The race was full of passing, minor wrecks, and lots and lots of lead changes.  I can’t tell you how long a race can drag on when someone is just dominating and unless its your driver, its not worth.  I had a very nice surprise towards the end of the race.  Last year, I decided to become a fan of Betrand Baguette becaust LBH, who doesn’t love that name?  Well, he didn’t do crap last year and almost didn’t have a ride this year.  However, on Sunday, he was looking pretty good and at one point took the lead from dumb ole Danica Patrick and lead until his car about ran out of gas.  So close!

Leave a Reply

