101 in 1001 Days: 1st Anniversary

April 26, 2011 at 6:15 pm (Uncategorized)

Today is my one year anniversary of starting my 101 in 1001 days list.  I started out this venture really just copying Dana.  But it has turned into a lot more for me.  Before I lived in Indiana, I had two things in mind.  One, I knew I had to get out of my routine of bartending, sleeping in, drinking, partying, etc.  As much fun as it was, I had bigger dreams.  My other thing was, all my trips to Indy were focused on family and going to a sporting event.  There were so many other things I wanted to do there. 

So then I move to Indy.  And I meet Chris and I tag along with him and his friends for a couple of years.  The job situation was kind of tough so I didn’t really do anything.  I don’t think it was until I got the job where I’m at now that I really started finding my own life out here.  So last year, when Dana mentioned this idea to me, I liked it.  It wasn’t a overly spirtual, God is there for you, psycho bull crap  type of deal.  It was just simple.  It was a guideline.  It was like a to do list.  I love to do lists! 

So in summary of my list, I have completed 32 of my 101 items.  I’ve started to really enjoy cooking and I’ve expanded my skills as a chef even learning how to make sushi and stuff a chicken breast.  I learned to play cribbage and euchre (two midwest games I had originally swore off).  I’ve been getting out more with Hank and have lost 14lbs to date.  I’ve been sight seeing, played burlesque bingo, and tried 13 new restaurants.  Probably my favorite one is running the 5K.  I never thought I could do it, but its turned into now I’ve run two 5K and have another in two weeks. 

I think this year, I need to focus on some more of the sight seeing that I’ve wanted to do.  I still have all the musuems to go to plus the NCAA Hall of Champions.  I have two more national parks to hike in.  I have taken some measures to ensure that I will be continuing on with my list.  I feel more active, more involved in my community, more aware of the happenings around the city, and overall better about myself.  I’m pretty proud of myself for going from going to bed at 4am to going to bed by 11pm.  I went from going to the bar almost every night to maybe a couple times a month sometimes not at all.  I went from eating at Glory Days every night to being able to cook a three course dinner.  And for that I will pat myself on the back.

2 Comments

  1. Dana said,

    I soooo obviously changed your life. You’re very welcome 😉

  2. Kim said,

    YAY! So glad that you’re embracing it and have really been knocking off those goals! Keep up the good work and you’re cooking dinner next time we come to visit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

